Walfred Photography

Flat Iron Building – New York City

Flat Iron Building

The Flatiron Building is one of the most photographed early-period skyscrapers in the world. I thought about cropping it and give it a more narrow composition, but I left it as it is. I thought the unique architecture is better emphasized by including a hint of how unusual it actually is compared to the nondescript neighboring buildings. New Yorkers seem to eschew all the camera-wielding tourists that clog up their sidewalks – I was with my family who had already endured countless stops so that I could take this, that and the other with my iPhone. My weekend family holiday was shared with #UDphoneography! Let’s just say, me and my artistic pursuits were slowing down the pace, so I took this on the quick, from a low perspective. The original is below. I edited the photo in Snapseed and added a HDR filter at about 30% to make the sky pop and which also helped emphasize the building’s detail. It gave the image an old-world postcard look. I cropped it square for Instagram, but in the square format, it lost some punch! I now know how to upload original photo sizes to Instagram! The lower third of the picture is interesting. With the filter, a pop of orange can be seen on the left, a water tower just next to the orange structure, and on the bottom right, a hint of a green street sign. The ornate first floors provided a good weight or foundation for the photograph, as compared to the openness of the sky. These details would have been lost without Snapseed’s HDR filter.

Flat Iron original

This entry was published on May 23, 2015 at 6:37 pm. It’s filed under Scenes, Smart phone photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Comments

