Walfred Photography

Blur

In response to The Daily Post’s weekly photo challenge: “Blur.”

First dip

We’d been waiting for them for weeks, ever since discovering a large clutch of duck eggs. We startled the mother mallard who was well camoflauged among the lilies and lirope at our pond’s edge and discovered our role as temporary custodians of this future family.

The Friday before Mother’s Day, 2013, I had taken the day off and saw the mother in the pond. I went over to look at the clutch and saw movement. I raced back into the house to get my camera, and this was my first shot. We later counted 12 ducklings. They were scurrying about, trying to get the courage to take their first plunge. Mama was quack, quack- coaching from the distance.

All my other shots (see my Animals and Wildlfe page) were in focus. I am glad this wasn’t. My excitement and nervousness matched theirs! It was all happening so fast. The blur fits the mood!

This entry was published on May 25, 2015 at 2:29 pm. It’s filed under Animals & Wildlife and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Comments

